Miller-McCune Shows Love on Valentine’s Day

kanye-albumcover

I have this Google Alert set up that provides me with an email update of the latest relevant Google results (web, news, etc.) for my name – Adrian Salgado – that I usually just skim through since most of the alerts link back to this blog or my Active Rain blog.  However, this morning I awoke to a Google Alert with the words “Miller” and “McCune” attached to it and did the double-take a millisecond short of deleting it.

The article attached to the Alert, “The Slumming of Suburbia”, was published this morning by Miller-McCune, a solutions-based research magazine that “draws on academic research and other definitive sources to provide reasoned policy options and solutions for today’s pressing issues”.

The journalist behind the article, David Villano, emailed me a few weeks ago after stumbling upon a blog post I wrote a few months back titled “Suburbia: 21st Century Ghetto?”. He asked me to call him regarding some research he was conducting regarding a topic I am very passionate about – suburban America. After a few rounds of phone tag, we set a date and time for a phone interview, he asked me a few questions, I answered willingly, and the rest – as they say -  is history.

I am very honored to have a quote, my name, and a thought attached to something published in such a prestigious and well-respected publication. However, I am much more honored by the fact that there are others out there who share the same (very serious) concerns I have about American suburbia and the death of the “American Dream”.

It’s sad to think that the same ignorance that allowed the destruction of American cities may once again be the culprit responsible for the suburban demise.

I hope it’s not too late. For an urban dweller’s sake.

Click here to enjoy the article.

Adrian Salgado is a Realtor Associate with dash - real estate company and can be reached at 305-491-7179 or SalgadoA@gmail.com

10 Comments

Filed under Suburbs

10 responses to “Miller-McCune Shows Love on Valentine’s Day

  1. hachy mendez

    Congratulations Adrian! Great article to be featured in. Doesn’t it feel great to know that you’re ‘ahead of the curve?’

  2. Adrian Salgado

    Thanks yous, ms. mendez.

    It definitely feels good to have the ability and (some) knowledge to voice my opinion on the topic, but I really don’t want to sit here 10-15 years from now and be like “See, I told you so”.

    I rather be recognized as one of the many voices that shed some light on this potentially huge problem in order to prevent some of the consequences of creating bland sameness.

  3. Silvia

    Congratulations! I read the article and found it very interesting.

    I am so proud of you. Great work Adrian, and most of all for caring about your City and the people who live in it.

    Always looking forward to your next blog,

    Silvia

  4. Felicidades!!! Adrian keep your blog going, always enjoy reading them.

  5. Anya

    WOW, Adrian!! I’m so proud of you!

  6. Betty

    Congrats, My friend, Your the Best :)

  7. Nelson

    Congratulations! being quoted before turning 40 is no small feat.

  8. Kenia

    Adrian,

    It doesn’t surprise me that a reputable magazine
    would want to get your two cents worth. Think we all do. Very nice. It’s all very true…” a stitch in time, saves nine.” A well deserved Kudos. : )

  9. Mario

    Brother, Congratulations! It’s about time someone took notice of the true talent that you are. Hopefully its just the beginning of great things to come your way.

Leave a Reply

